My Skydive for Youth Engagement Project

Lifestyle

IMG_3366IMG_3358  IMG_3403IMG_3413

I’ve had an absolutely amazing day raising money for a charity that is very close to my heart and then chucked myself out of a plane!

Since February, I have been raising money for Sprowston Youth Engagement Project which is run by leading youth worker Clare Lincoln (my fellow jumping buddy). Every Tuesday there is a group of around 40 13-18 year olds who meet for the evening to engage with the wider community. We have speakers from organisations come in every so often to tell us about their policies and how they can help teenagers in Sprowston (Norwich). As the SYEP is funded by Broadland YAB and through sponsored activies, such as this skydive, we often get to go out as a group to teambuilding exercises. In the past we have been camping, tubing, laser tag and raft building to name a few! I personally love attending the group every week as I am one of the newbies there (I joined in February) and the volunteers are extremely lovely and welcoming.

Through today’s jump I personally raised £240. Although it doesn’t seem like much, any amount of money creates amazing opportunities for teenagers in the community. As far as the skydive is concerned, I absolutely loved it and it was such an exhilarating experience! I’m so proud of myself for following through with it and even prouder to have raised money to give back to a fantastic cause.

You can find the SYEP website and all of the details here – SYEP Teen Cafe, and their Twitter and Facebook through the hyperlinks.

Leave a Reply

