Disney, Hot Dogs & Fireworks ~ Paris

Travel

As the ‘final family holiday’ before my parents lose me to University, we thought we’d spontaneously book a trip to Disneyland Paris whilst we were in Turkey. I’ve been to Disneyland Paris twice before in my life, once in 2006 when i was 8 years old, and again in 2013 when I was 15. I will warn you- I didn’t take my camera with me so all photos in this post were taken on my iPhone 5s.

IMG_0350

Last time I went to Disneyland Paris, I don’t really remember what food we ate- besides Toad Hall since we went there mostly every night. After watching Ellie Steadmen’s Disney vlogs, I realised that I had to get a Casey’s hot dog on the first day as I’d never had one before. This was honestly THE NICEST THING IVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE- hot dog with melted cheese and crispy onions…corrr

IMG_0386

After arriving in the evening, we woke up early the next morning and managed to catch the Frozen parade and I fangirled a lot like a 6 year old. As much as I love Frozen, hearing ‘Let it Go’ repeatedly for a week reaaally got on my nerves, especially since they played it in like 10 different languages. Anna is my favourite Disney character, besides Pocahontas, so I literally had tears in my eyes (like the sad teenager I am) when she spoke to me.

IMG_0395

Like the previous time that we went to Paris, we spent a day in Val D’Europe which is a shopping village like Bichester Village or Freeport Braintree. After myself and my mum shopped for dad in Georgio Armani, I ventured into Sephora with the intention of buying the Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade but it turns out that they didn’t stock it :(. I ended up buying an Urban Decay Revolution lipstick in the shade Naked which is STUNNING and as the prices were in euros, it worked out cheaper after the conversion! I also went into MAC and tried out my french linguistics and bought a 266 brush and Fluidline Brow Gel Creme to sort out my brows.

IMG_0564

After shopping for hours, we found ourselves in the supermarket in the village and I bumped into a lifesize model of Chris Hemsworth! It was then that I realised how small I was…or how tall Chris Hemsworth is…

IMG_0566

In the evening, we decided to visit Pizza Del Arte for tea where I put my A in french to good use by ordering our meals. I had my favourite meal – Pasta Carbonara – and admittedly, it was the best Carbonara I’ve ever had!

IMG_0831

For years, we kept saying that we’d have to spend an evening watching Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show as we hear so many good things about it so we decided to bite the bullet this year and go on our last night. I can’t put into words how enthusiastic everyone gets and the audience participation is incredible! Everyone gets allocated into seating zones which correspond to four colours- blue, green, red, and we were yellow- these colours are also on a ribbon which gets tied around your cowboy hat which are free to take home (dad insisted on wearing all four of ours throughout the evening)! The food was AMAZING- chilli, ribs, chicken, sausages, apple pie- you get served each course while the show is going on and the waitresses interact with you so much during the evening. We luckily had an English waitress who brought us extra ribs since she had some left over- I was a big fan of her! Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience but I think it’s the sort of thing you’d only do once- my mum and brother weren’t that into it but me and dad were banging our cutlery on the tables and cheering so loud just to wind them up.

IMG_0597

To end off a brilliant week, we stood waiting in the rain for hours to get a good spot to see the fireworks- but boy was it worth it. The fireworks were the same ones which were there in 2013 but nonetheless they were amazing! The idea is that they coordinate the fireworks and music with light projections onto the castle- my favourite was the Hunchback of Notre Dame as the projections made it look like he was climbing the castle…and I cried my eyes out since I love the song from that film!

IMG_0739

Disneyland Paris is amazing for anyone who wants to go and never gets boring. Unfortunately, I can’t see myself going for another few years because of University but I really want to visit with my friends in the future.

Hannah

Leave a Reply

